Another New Place

It has been a while since I relocated anywhere, but it was time to ditch the old blog, which you can view here, should you dare. I think I got tired of the old format, the way everything on that page made me think about Lance or Rob or some other fallen hero from my past. At one point I was posting 5 times a day, every day. When I go back to review those posts, I can picture myself sitting at one of the high top tables outside the Co-op on the UMD campus, feverishly typing away, waiting for my boyfriend to arrive with his plain yogurt and fruit and coffee. Good memories, but memories I don’t want to let myself dwell on TOO much.

It also doesn’t help that I changed my email, and every time I’d go to post on Blogspot, I’d have to log out of my new email and revisit the old emails sent to julianish@gmail.com. Those pictures from an ex-boyfriend in San Francisco. Old emails to and from my father, who I have limited communication with these days. Love letters from long-distance friends. It’s like a time capsule into sadder times.

So here I am again, anew, just five days away from my departure to San Francisco from Washington, DC, my home of 4 years. I’m really sad about it. I know I’m going to miss my friends tremendously, but I also know that its unhealthy to dwell on what you once had. I learned that lesson from Bright Eyes’, “Loose Leaves”:

 ”That’s gone and I know that it won’t ever come back 

 I accept I won’t cling to what I had in the past

 But life’s a slippery slope, regret’s the steepest hill

 Hope for the best, plan for the worst and maybe wind up somewhere in the middle.”

Anyway. Don’t even get me started on how sad I am to be leaving my mom. I guess it was only a matter of time before the umbilical chord had to be cut, eh?

Leave a Reply

