Cynthia Nixon: “For me, [homosexuality] is a choice.”

In an interesting interview with the New York Times, Cynthia Nixon of “Sex and the City” fame gave a really lengthy speech on how her sexuality is a choice. The quote is below, but be warned: shit is long:

“I gave a speech recently, an empowerment speech to a gay audience, and it included the line ‘I’ve been straight and I’ve been gay, and gay is better.’ And they tried to get me to change it, because they said it implies that homosexuality can be a choice. And for me, it is a choice. I understand that for many people it’s not, but for me it’s a choice, and you don’t get to define my gayness for me. A certain section of our community is very concerned that it not be seen as a choice, because if it’s a choice, then we could opt out. I say it doesn’t matter if we flew here or we swam here, it matters that we are here and we are one group and let us stop trying to make a litmus test for who is considered gay and who is not. As you can tell, I am very annoyed about this issue. Why can’t it be a choice? Why is that any less legitimate? It seems we’re just ceding this point to bigots who are demanding it, and I don’t think that they should define the terms of the debate. I also feel like people think I was walking around in a cloud and didn’t realize I was gay, which I find really offensive. I find it offensive to me, but I also find it offensive to all the men I’ve been out with.”

You can read the article that Slate wrote here, or you can face-palm yourself into a coma; I did both (recovering from the coma now).

I think it’s an interesting stance to take, and I understand what she means by letting “them” (meaning straight bigots) “define the terms of the debate.” But still – she’s very unapologetic about how she sounds and fails to acknowledge that she’s in the minority of the gay community. After all, I’m pretty sure I, in reading this, am not the first person to feel the hairs on my neck stand on end by her blasé disregard towards the majority of the community who, to use her terminology, actually CRAWLED “here.”

I wonder what her partner thinks of this opinion?

Leave a Reply

